Friday, June 25, 2010

Episode 302

Songs To Learn And Sing - Episode 302

Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Iris EP (The Leaf Label, 2010)

Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Retina EP (The Leaf Label, 2010)

This episode featured a track from both the Iris and Retina EPs by Wildbirds & Peacedrums. Both EPs are released by the Leaf Label as individually numbered limited edition white vinyl 12''s (1,600 copies per EP). Both EPs are extraordinary. According to Leaf: "Retina was recorded in a Reykjavík church in January with the Schola Cantorum Chamber Choir. Completed at the same time, but featuring a completely separate sonic character, Iris is intrinsically linked to its partner by a common aquatic theme. Iris was recorded in Reykjavik’s Greenhouse studios by Australian émigré sound artist and engineer Ben Frost, and mixed by Valgeir Sigurðsson (Camille, Björk, Bonnie Prince Billy). The five songs focus on the unique resonant sound of the steel pan – vocalist Mariam Wallentin’s current musical passion...The two EPs sound very different – Retina symbolizing the reflection of light, with a big and wet and dark sound. Iris is more direct and raw – it has a drier, purer, more intimate sound, with hardly any embellishment beyond the percussion." These two EPs are probably the best records I've heard all year. For anyone who misses the vinyl, both EPs will be released as an album entitled Rivers by the Leaf Label in August

Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Bleed Like There Was No Other Flood
(taken from Retina, 2010)

Episode 302 - 24/06/2010

Wildbirds & Peacedrums - The Wave
Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Tiny Holes in This World
Enemies - Backaches and Cardigans
Male Bonding - Franklin
Faust - Ozean
Faust - Hit Me
Antoni Maiovvi - The Sigh From The Sky Was a Lie Without Doubt
Crystal Castles - Year of Silence
Harmonia - Sehr Kosmisch
Actress - Always Human
Micah P. Hinson - Take Off That Dress For Me
Teenage Fanclub - When I Still Have Thee
Teenage Fanclub - Into The City
Teenage Fanclub - What You Do To Me
Sleeping States - Rings of Saturn
Damien Jurado - Kansas City
Phosphorescent - We'll Be Here Soon
Phosphorescent - Tell Me Baby (Have You Had Enough)
Gorky's Zygotic Mynci - Diamond Dew
Nina Nastasia - This Familiar
Mountain Man - Mouthwings
Mountain Man - Arabella
Wild Nothing - Drifter
The Pains of Being Pure At Heart - Say No To Love
On No Ono - Icicles (Efterklang Remix)
Efterklang - Modern Drift (On No Ono Remix)
Health - USA Boys

No comments: