Saturday, June 25, 2011

Episode 354

Songs To Learn And Sing - Episode 354

This episode featured The Boy With the Perpetual Nervousness by The Feelies, the first track from the band's debut 1980 album, Crazy Rhythms. I hadn't heard this album in about 15 years but recently picked up the Domino Records vinyl reissue. The track still sounds fantastic and the album was definately years ahead of its time. The band reformed a few years ago and released a new album, Here Before on Bar None Records back in April to great reviews.

Let Go by Son Lux is taken from We Are Rising on Anticon Records. Son Lux is Ryan Lott and he creates a beautiful blend of chamberpop and electronic music. We Are Rising is the follow up the the great At War With Walls and Mazes from 2008, around that time Son Lux played a really good gig in Dublin supporting Why? Ryan wrote a really interesting article for In Digest recently about the making of We Are Rising. Hear the album below.

Episode 354 – 23/06/2011


North Sea Radio Orchestra – Berliner Luft
The Fall – Touch Sensitive
The Fall – Inevitable
Lawrence Arabia – The Crew of the Commodore
Wildbirds & Peacedrums – The Lake
Damon & Naomi – Shadow Boxing
Cats Eyes – The Best Person I Know
Devon Sproule – The Weeping Willow
Charles Douglas – Summertime
Easterhouse – Whistling in the Dark
The Feelies – The Boy With the Perpetual Nervousness
Life Without Buildings – Is Is and the IRS
Explosions in the Sky – Human Qualities
Adele – Rolling in the Deep (Jamie XX Reshuffle)
Oh No Ono – Icicles
Charlotte Gainsbourg – Heaven Can Wait
William D Drake – The Rising of the Lights
The Horror The Horror – Wilderness
Curve – Fait Accompli
David McCallum/David Axelrod – The Edge
Errors – A Rumour In Africa (Gold Panda Remix)
Son Lux – Let Go
Flying Saucer Attack – Outdoor Miner
Extra Life – Ripped Heart
Shugo Tokumaru – Drive-Thru
Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues
The Decemberists – Why We Fight
Halves – Only Safe Landings

No comments: